Prof. Diller receives the I.W. Smith Award from CSME

Prof. Diller received the I.W. Smith Award from the Canadian Society of Mechanical Engineers! The I.W. Smith Award was established in 1977 to honour Professor I. W. Smith who devoted a lifetime to teaching mechanical engineering at the University of Toronto. It is awarded annually for outstanding achievement in creative mechanical engineering within 10 years of undergraduate graduation. Prof. Diller received the award at the CSME Annual Congress banquet on May 29, 2018 at York University.

Microrobotics Lab wins Second Place in event at Mobile Microrobotics Challenge!

Lucas and Chris with the team’s microrobotic system

Our team of undergraduate students Christopher Lucasius (EngSci 4th year), York Dong (Mech 4th year) and Lucas Botelho (Mech 4th year) won second place in the “Autonomous Manipulation and Accuracy Challenge” event at the Mobile Microrobotics Challenge. The team competed in the even at the International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) 2018 in Brisbane Australia. This challenging series of tasks had the team design and manufacture microrobots up to 500 micrometers in length (about the size of a grain of salt) for both autonomous manipulation and microassembly in arenas less than 3 mm long. Thank you to the UofT Institute for Robotics and Mechatronics for helping support our team! The team was supervised by Prof. Diller along with graduate students Jiachen Zhang and Mohammad Salehizadeh with support from Omid Youssefi and Tianqi Xu.

Best Student Paper Award at MARSS Conference

Congratulations To Mohammad that his paper “Optimization-based formation control of underactuated magnetic microrobots via inter-agent forces” won the Best Student Paper Award at the 2017 conference Manipulation and Robotics and Small Scales (MARSS)! This is the second year in a row that his papers have been nominated for this award! Congrats Mohammad for the great work! link